Betty

Betty and Kathy, 1952
Betty and Kathy in Fentress, Texas, Easter 1952.
My mother’s sister was named Betty, but nearly everyone in my father’s family referred to her as “your cute little red-headed aunt.”

She was cute. She was, in fact, cuter than all her seven nieces and nephews put together. She was our playmate of choice.

Adults felt the same way. My great-grandmother’s eighty-plus-year-old sister, Aunt Leal,  once reported, “That cute little Betty drove us over to San Antonio for Arthur’s funeral, and we just had more fun.”

Betty became the age of every companion. She made children feel grown up and the elderly feel young.

Valentine, 1959
Valentine, 1959

  When I informed my parents that Betty and I were practically the same age, they guffawed.  I don’t know why. My assumption was reasonable: The spike heels she gave me for dress-up fit perfectly when I was eight, and by the time I was ten, we were nearly the same height. And we laughed at all the same  things.

When I was seven, I sent Betty the Valentine pictured here.  Note that the “Aunt” was an afterthought. I have no idea why I inserted it–I never called her “Aunt” in my life. She was just Betty.

7 thoughts on “Betty

  1. Yes, she was cute! I don’t know how old I was when I realized she was older than I, chronologically speaking. I do know, however, that I was still in grade school when I could no longer get my gunboat feet into her petite size 5 shoes. She was a playmate, a friend, a mentor, and a side-kick. I still miss her, too!

    Like

  2. I stumbled across your blog. What can you tell me about the Lipscomb Rifles? My great uncle Marvin Biggs is noted in the Signal July 29, 1897 as having gone to camp and saw a snake.
    I live in Luling and am researching the W.H.H. Biggs family.

    Like

  3. What do you know about the Lipscomb Rifles? My great uncle Marvin Biggs was a member, I believe, in 1897.
    I live in Luling.

    Like

  4. My great-grandfather, Col. John Lipscomb Veazey, formed the company during the Spanish-American War. His wife and two of his daughters sailed on the troop ship with the men and lived in Cuba until they returned home. My aunt, Barbara Barrow King, has more information. I’ll make her aware of your question, just in case she doesn’t see your comment.

    The photo of the Lipscomb Rifles reunion that appears in the post “Princess Katherine” was taken between 1948 and 1951, I believe. Your great-uncle’s name doesn’t appear in the list on the back of the photo. Barbara might know whether there are more such photos from other reunions.

    I’m a Fentress native.

    Like

  5. I wish I could say I do have more info, but I don’t. Hope someone at the Caldwell Co. Society can help us out there. I’m sending the picture to them and look forward to receiving some input after they publish it in the Plum Creek Almanac soon, if not before. I’m certainly not getting any younger and can’t wait too long!
    As to Betty’s picture, it really gave me a start to see it. Looks like I could just reach in and give her a big hug. She was my constant companion from the time she was born, and I still miss her like crazy! We got into all sorts of mischief together. I agree the baby she is holding is cute, also! And Betty seems quite smitten.

    Like

Leave a Reply

